Suburban struggles

I do not have a car, I do not have a bike, and I live in the suburbs. In my opinion, the part of the suburbs that I live in isn’t the most charming. There are very few pedestrian walkways, there are some parts that don’t have any sort of walkway at all, and it’s mostly manufacturing places and some housing complexes with signs that say “No Trespassing” or “Area Protected by Neighborhood Watch”. Not the greatest place to go for a walk.

But go for a walk, I did. I covered quite a bit of distance, which was nice. But I didn’t get to my destination, which was the Des Plaines River Trail.

I know where the closest “official” entrance is, but it’s on the other side of this large and constantly busy highway that I am afraid to cross because I am the proverbial chicken crossing the road. However, I know that the river trail has a bridge that goes over this highway and onto my side, so I was looking for a way to get myself onto the river trail so I could use the bridge to get to the other side and continue exploring.

Unfortunately, I ran into a problem.


That overpass in the top part of the map is a set of train tracks. Behind this track, there’s another overpass that is the bridge of the Des Plaines River Trail.

Though I did see the tracks on Google Maps when I was planning my route, I had the brilliant idea to try and cross them. I did not anticipate seeing a “No Trespassing” sign and a rather tall chain link fence on the other side of the tracks.

Also, a train went by right when I got to the tracks, which kind of freaked me out.

It makes me a little sad that I can’t freely walk around the same way I can in New York City. I miss walking, I miss having clear paths that I can definitely take and not have to worry too much about getting run over by a car. I miss being able to use just my two feet to get me somewhere.

I wanted to have this post be filled with pretty pictures I would take along the Des Plaines River Trail, but that would have to wait for another day when I can actually get to the trail.

Still, it was a nice day to go out walking. Not too cold, a little bit windy, but nothing biting. I actually felt myself start to sweat a little when I was walking back, but I was bundled pretty snugly.

On my way back home, I glanced at the untamed parts of the fields on the sides of the road, thick and unknown, but fenced in with signs that advertised soon-to-come buildings. I don’t want more buildings; I want more walkways and access to that river trail so I can cross the highway without having to cross the actual highway or go through private property.

I can’t get anywhere in this town.

But I won’t let that deter me. I’ll take another walk soon. Hopefully I will get to that darn river trail.

This post was inspired by today’s Writing Challenge: Map It Out.

4 comments

    1. Thank you! Unfortunately, it looks like I have to cross the highway in order to get to it. But I will search diligently for another way!

      Thanks for the comment and for visiting my blog! :)

Leave a Reply

